Hogging it: LSU whips Arkansas, wins SEC West title

College Sports
This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Joe Burrow threw three touchdown passes and Clyde Edwards-Helaire rushed for 188 yards and three scores as top ranked LSU routed Arkansas 56-20 Saturday night at Tiger Stadium.

LSU won the SEC West title for the first time since 2011.

After the game, LSU players headed to the dressing room, leaving the Golden Boot trophy, that goes to the LSU/Arkansas winner, on the field.

It was a sign that the team had their eyes on bigger trophies.

[protected-iframe id=”d5d72039a496cf0ff397cfdbb10d4bfb-41641972-42209532″ info=”hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw” class=”twitter-tweet”]

The Tigers pulled away from the Hogs with three touchdowns in a span of 5:02 of the third quarter.

Joe Burrow threw a 50 yard TD pass to Ja’Marr Chase. Edwards-Helaire then ran 26 yards and 89 yards for touchdowns.

Edwards-Helaire also had 7 receptions for 65 yards.

Burrow, in less than three quarters, completed 23 of 28 passes for 327 yards.

LSU scored 21 second quarter points on the way to a 28-6 halftime lead over the Hogs.

Joe Burrow’s 10 yard TD pass to Justin Jefferson with 14 seconds to play in the first half capped the scoring.

Burrow threw 37 yards to Ja’Marr Chase for a touchdown on the opening possession of the game.

Tyrion Davis-Price rushed 2 yards for a score in the second quarter.

Clyde Edwards-Helaire followed that with a 27 yard touchdown run.

John Emery, true freshman from Destrehan, ran 39 yards for LSU’s final touchdown early in the fourth quarter.

LSU, 11-0, has won 12 consecutive games.

LSU plays Texas A&M Saturday night in Tiger Stadium.

“It’s on,” said Ed Orgeron of next Saturday’s game. Safety JaCoby Stevens said the Tigers haven’t forgotten a seven overtime 74-72, and the punches thrown after, including one that struck LSU analyst Steve Kragthorpe.


Latest News

More News