Qualifying ends with 18 candidates for New Orleans mayor

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

NEW ORLEANS — Qualifying for the October election ended Friday afternoon with more than a dozen candidates on the ballot for New Orleans mayor.

We now know that businessman Sidney Torres is not running, but 18 people are.

As expected, City Councilwoman LaToya Cantrell, former judges Desiree Charboneet and Michael Bagneris, and businessman Frank Scurlock are on the ballot.

Also running is Troy Henry, a businessman who ran for mayor in 2010.

Then there’s Charles Anderson, a local activist who announced his bid for mayor with a rap video.

Here’s the complete list:

  • Thomas Albert Jr. – Democrat
  • Charles Anderson – Democrat
  • Michael Bagneris – Democrat
  • Manny Chevrolet Bruno – No Party
  • Edward “Ed” Bruski – Independent
  • LaToya Cantrell – Democrat
  • Desiree Charbonnet – Democrat
  • Byron Stephan Cole – No Party
  • Edward Collins Sr. – Democrat
  • Brandon Dorrington – Democrat
  • Troy Henry – Democrat
  • Matthew Hill – No Party
  • Derrick O’Brien Martin – No Party
  • Frank Scurlock – Democrat
  • Johnese Smith – Democrat
  • Patrick Van Hoorebeek – Independent
  • Tommie Vassel – Democrat
  • Hashim Walters – Independent

The primary election is Oct. 14.


Latest News

More News