2016 Nobel Prize for Chemistry awarded to three scientists

National/World News

The 2016 Nobel Chemistry Prize was awarded to a trio behind some of the world’s tiniest machines

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(CNN)– The 2016 Nobel Prize for Chemistry has been awarded to three pioneering scientists who have taken their field to a “new dimension” with work on molecular machines.

The prize went to Jean-Pierre Sauvage of the University of Strasbourg in France; Sir James Fraser Stoddart of Northwestern University in the United States, and Bernard L Feringa of the University of Groningen in the Netherlands for the design and synthesis of molecular machines.

The Nobel committee said the trio had developed the “world’s smallest machines” — molecules with controllable movements that “can perform a task when energy is added.”

Trademark and Copyright 2020 Cable News Network, Inc., a Time Warner Company. All rights reserved.


Latest News

More News