FEMA extends loan assistance to communities impacted by March flooding

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

BATON ROUGE, LA - AUGUST 15: Ryan Evans rides in a boat along a flooded road on August 15, 2016 in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Record-breaking rains pelted Louisiana over the weekend leaving the city with historic levels of flooding that have caused at least seven deaths and damaged thousands of homes. (Photo by Joe Raedle/Getty Images)

NEW ORLEANS (WGNO) – Louisiana communities affected by this year’s historic floods are now eligible for the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Community Disaster Loan Program.

City and parish governments, school districts, fire and law enforcement districts, and sewer and water districts in areas impacted by the severe storms and floods that occurred between March 8 and April 8 of this year can all qualify for assistance, according to a press release by Governor John Bel Edwards.

The government entities are eligible for a loan of up to $5 million if they lost more than five percent of their revenue from taxes and other sources due to the flooding that occurred in March.

“The success of Louisiana depends on the success of local municipalities across our state,” Gov. Edwards said. “We are fortunate to have local leaders on the ground who demonstrated strong governance in the face of the March flooding. Their partnership and tireless dedication to rebuilding flood-affected communities has been critical during this ongoing recovery process. The Community Disaster Loan Program that now applies to both the March and August flooding can go a long way toward helping our schools, first responders and local governments continue the rebuilding effort.”

The parishes impacted by the August flooding were previously approved for FEMA’s CDLP. Now, local government entities in the following parishes impacted by the March flooding are also eligible to apply: Allen, Ascension, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Catahoula, Claiborne, De Soto, East Carroll, Franklin, Grant, Jackson, La Salle, Lafourche, Lincoln, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Helena, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Carroll, and Winn.

Loan terms are five years, but they may be extended to 10 years. The loan money cannot be used for the non-federal cost share of disaster grants, capital projects like new construction, or to repair or restore damaged public facilities.