Saints Sean Payton comments on All-50th team


NEW ORLEANS (WGNO) — The New Orleans Saints announced a listing of the top 50 players in franchise history. The list was voted on by special committee of selectors, including the members of the New Orleans Saints Ring of Honor, Saints personnel executives, a blue-ribbon panel of media members and through online balloting.

The selection of the players that are on the team was on an individual merit-based platform, and not on a pre-determined specific number of players at each position.

“Look obviously, 50 years for players who are on that team, congratulations. That’s a big honor. I think one of the things people will enjoy about something like that is the discussion that follows with it and the debates and all that kind of things. But I wouldn’t be able to tell you every person on it,” said Sean Payton.

"It is a thrill and an honor to see the names of these terrific football players who reached the highest levels of success and were looked upon so favorably by the fans of the team, the media, and those that follow the game so closely," said Saints Owner Tom Benson. "Some of these selections were rather obvious, but others merited great discussion and debate and it became fascinating to watch the process of identifying the team play itself out. These are all deserving men and it's not a slight on the countless others who certainly fit very well into the conversations. We look forward to welcoming them back to the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in December."

Here's a list of the top 50 players in New Orleans Saints history:

 WR Danny Abramowicz
K Morten Andersen
C LeCharles Bentley
QB Drew Brees*
TE Hoby Brenner
T Stan Brock
PR Reggie Bush**
TE Henry Childs
WR Marques Colston
G Jim Dombrowski
G Jahri Evans*
LB Joe Federspiel
FB Hokie Gajan
ST Steve Gleason
DT La’Roi Glover
TE Jimmy Graham**
S Roman Harper*
QB Bobby Hebert
C Joel Hilgenberg
C John Hill
RB Dalton Hilliard
WR Joe Horn
PR/KR Tyrone Hughes
LB Rickey Jackson
DE Joe Johnson
LB Vaughan Johnson
S Sammy Knight
G Jake Kupp
RS Michael Lewis
WR Eric Martin
DL Wayne Martin
QB Archie Manning
RB/ST Fred McAfee
RB Deuce McAllister
LB Sam Mills
DT Derland Moore
P Thomas Morstead*
S Tommy Myers
G Carl Nicks
CB Johnnie Poe
T Willie Roaf
DE Will Smith
T Jon Stinchcomb
LB Pat Swilling
RB Pierre Thomas
LB Jonathan Vilma
DE Frank Warren
CB Dave Waymer
CB Dave Whitsell
DT Jim Wilks
*indicates currently on Saints roster
**indicates currently active in NFL with another team

The members of the All-50th Season Team will be honored during the Saints vs. Detroit Lions game on December 4, 2016.