Officials Release Nationalities of Passengers Aboard Malaysia Airlines Flight 17


People stand, on July 17, 2014, amongst the wreckage of the Malaysian airliner carrying 295 people from Amsterdam to Kuala Lumpur after it crashed, near the town of Shaktarsk, in rebel-held east Ukraine. (DOMINIQUE FAGET/AFP/Getty Images)

(CNN) — Vice President of Malaysia Airlines Europe Huib Gorter told reporters that the 15 crew members on Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 were all Malaysian nationals.

He gave a breakdown of the known nationalities of the 280 passengers:

  • 154 were Dutch,
  • 27 were Australians,
  • 23 were Malaysians,
  • 11 were Indonesian,
  • six were from the United Kingdom,
  • four were from Germany;
  • four were from Belgium,
  • three were from the Philippines and
  • one was Canadian.

Authorities were still trying to determine the nationalities of the other passengers.

Trademark and Copyright 2016 Cable News Network, Inc., a Time Warner Company. All rights reserved.

Suggest a correction